How Dr. Shanahas got 6th Rank in COMEDK PG Entrance Exam

At Odontrack, we always try to publish the success stories from the dental fraternity to provide you with valuable insights and the much needed motivation to excel in your career. Last week, we interviewed Dr. Aalisha Kanodia, the best outgoing student of MCODS, Manipal Batch of 2010-15, who also secured AIR 101 in the AIPGDEE-2015. You can read her interview here.

Recently, we had a chance to talk to Dr. Shanahas Mohamed who has secured 6th Rank in the prestigious COMEDK Post Graduate Dental Examination in his first attempt. Here are the excerpts from our talk.

You got 100% Scholarship for your BDS at MCODS, Manipal and now you have 6th Rank in COMED-K Exam right in your first attempt. How does it feel to be successful throughout? 

Firstly I am extremely thankful to Almighty and then to my parents for their constant support that have helped me to achieve the BDS scholarship and COMEDK rank. There were moments of frustration because of the amount of topics there were to be covered and my inability to memorize important values and topics even after reading them repeatedly. But after seeing my parents proud I think that all the hard work and effort was worth it.

How was your academic life during your undergraduation? Were you always among the toppers?

I was never a topper during my undergrad years. But I did get distinction in my 1st and 3rd year of BDS. I used to spend most of my time in group discussion area of our university library with my friends. We used to chit chat and talk about random topics, laugh and have fun after college hours and there used to be small studying sessions in between all these. This was my routine for 4 years. During internship I was a member of the Student Council of our college and got the chance to organize various cultural, sports and literary events for the college. I also participated in many research, paper and poster presentation that year. My most cherished moments during that time were when I got to organize an inter-collage scientific paper/poster presentation competition, IGNITE ’15 with the help of entire council members and the amazing faculty of MCODS, Manipal, which turned out huge success.

We have heard that you helped and tutored many of your fellow batch mates during your undergraduation. Tell us something more about it.

I was always passionate about teaching and wanted to be a teacher from a young age. In college it was more of a combined study sessions than tutoring. We used to discuss and understand difficult concepts, make funny mnemonics and study. Studying use to be fun, all thanks to my amazing friends. When some other friend who were not able to understand certain topic asked for help during exam it was easy for me to explain since I made an understanding during my group discussion. It was very satisfying experience to help my friends with their studies. Every time I explained to someone it was like revision for me.

GS2 (1)

Dr. Shanahas with his study group at the Central Health Science Library, Manipal.

It seems clear that you are good at teaching. So do you want to be an academician or a clinician post MDS ?

I always loved teaching and would want to be an academician. But I would love to continue my clinical practice also. I hope I can find a balance between the two.

Share a few more achievement of yours apart from the rank at COMEDK.

Got a scholarship for BDS in MCODS, Manipal

Was joint secretary for my college council and successfully helped in organizing various events.

Got a chance to do paper and poster presentation at state, national and international conferences.

Got 2nd place in innovation day presentation conducted by Manipal University Technology Business Incubator (MUTBI)

AIPGDEE 2015 rank: 677

6th rank in COMEDK 2016

7th rank in KLE Belgaum PG entrance exam

6th rank in Manipal PG entrance exam 2016

How did you prepare for MDS Entrance Exams ?

Internship was a very busy year as I was involved with various extra curricular activities. I had great help from my friend who was a constant motivation for me to study during my internship. We started with Dental Pulse during December of our internship. Studying was extremely slow in the beginning but we were consistent and made sure we did at least a single page of MCQs on a busy day and tried to utilize as much as free time possible. We tried different pattern of reading for first few weeks. We realized not to start at all with textbooks but only to use as a reference in case of doubt with the mcqs. The pattern which worked for us was to read the synopsis of Dental Pulse from a particular chapter rather than the full subject, then do the MCQs of that same chapter immediately. In case of doubt in a question while solving MCQs, those doubts were cleared immediately from the textbook or internet or by our faculty. It was good to start with dental topics in the beginning as it gave me confidence and build pace after the slow start.

Time line:

Nov – Dec: Started with Dental Pulse and experimented with various study pattern.

Dec – April: Regular reading of Dental Pulse for a minimum of 2 hrs daily

May- August: Finished one time reading Dental Pulse + simultaneous exploring of new books

like Neeraj Wadhwan, Target MDS, Dental Bytes (at least 1-2 question paper from each to get familiar with the book)

(My internship ended in mid August)

August to November(i.e upto AIIMS exam): revision of Dental Pulse once more + Neeraj Wadhawan and Target MDS ½ to 1 paper from each daily.

AIIMS to AIPG: revision of doubtful topics from Pulse and Wadhwan and Target

AIPG to COMEDK: COMEDK Buster

 

Did you join any coaching center/test series?

I did not join any regular coaching center but I did join for online test series of DAMS. It helped me to get familiarized with the online test pattern and practice time management and to reduce my guess work and negative markings.

What is your dream branch and college?

I am open towards my options in department for PG. Inshah Allah I would like to join either Orthodontics, Pedodontics or Endodontics, but preferably orthodontics in SDM College, Dharwad.

Any tips for your juniors who will be taking the entrance exams in future?

Study regularly even if it is a very small portion of the day just to make it a habit. I would also suggest combined study is a better way to study for entrance than preparing alone. Always remember “To teach is to learn twice”. So teach your friends, pass on new information, tell each other about the new books available. In case of any doubts on how to study, or making time table, books to read or any related topic you can always email me or Whatsapp me and I would be more than happy to help.

PP

You can contact Dr. Shanahas at +91 9035081762. His e-mail id is shanumohd6@gmail.com.

Do you belong to the dental fraternity and have a story to tell (an achievement/award/business/innovation) ? Drop a mail to odontrack@gmail.com or call at +91-9743272862 and we will be glad to cover your story!

 

Leave a comment